Exploration of digitalized bird ringing data from France

Ringing exists in France since 1923. This method of marking using a numbered ring allows to document the future and the travels of birds. It remains the main method of monitoring at large-scale of individual birds. This activity is managed by the Centre de Recherche sur la Biologie des Populations dOiseaux (CRBPO) of the Muséum National dHistoire Naturelle (MNHN) under authority of the ministry in charge of ecology. The CRBPO leads national studies, done by a network of more then 400 ringers.

The CRBPO also instructes the exemptions- and archives the data - for all other research programs using on to the numbered metallic rings in France. CRBPO works in partership with research institutes (CNRS, IRD, Universities, ONCFS, ONF, ...), associations and local collectivities. These researches would be totally impossible without the collectif work of the volunteers and professionals ringers, as well as data centralisation. The data presented here were collected in their great majority by volunteers either by ringers or the public who informs the CRBPO about the discovery of ringed birds. French ringing included more than 600 ringers who ring more than 350 000 birds annualy! All the collected information is archived in a national database housed by the CRBPO. The present site allows you to explore this database, in order to get more knowledge on the migrations, and the functioning of the populations of birds.

Note that the database you consult contains only the numerised data. An huge part of the historic archives of ringing was not computerized yet. However, since the year 2000, the entire data are numerised, thus the database is exhaustive for recent years.

The standard quotation to be used to make a reference to data or results extracted from the database managed by the CRBPO is: Dehorter O. & CRBPO (year of consultation). Base de données de baguage et déplacements d'oiseaux de France / Bird ringing and movement database for France. Centre de Recherches sur la Biologie des Populations d'Oiseaux, Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris, France. http://crbpo.mnhn.fr/. Consulté le / Accessed on day/month/year of consultation of the data.

If you have problems of understanding or questions about the presented information, do not hesitate to visit the FAQ section on our Web site.

Consultation des données françaises numérisées de baguage d'oiseaux

Le baguage des oiseaux est pratiqué en France depuis 1923. Cette méthode de marquage à l'aide d'une bague numérotée permet de documenter le devenir et les déplacements des oiseaux. Elle reste la principale méthode de suivi individuel doiseaux à large échelle. Cette activité est structurée et animée par le Centre de Recherches sur la Biologie des Populations dOiseaux (CRBPO) du Muséum National d'Histoire Naturelle (MNHN), sous l'autorité du Ministère chargé de l'Ecologie. Le CRBPO mène des études nationales, mises-en-oeuvre par un réseau de 400 bagueurs.

Le CRBPO instruit également les dérogations - et archive les données - pour tous les autres programmes de recherche faisant appel aux bagues métalliques numérotées officielles pour la France. Le CRBPO travaille en partenariat avec des instituts de recherche, des associations et des collectivités locales. Ces recherches seraient impossibles à mener à bien sans le travail collectif et centralisé de l'ensemble des bagueurs, bénévoles et professionnels. Les données présentées ici ont été collectées dans leur grande majorité par des bénévoles, que ce soit les bagueurs au cours des suivis qu'ils mettent en oeuvre, ou le public qui informe le CRBPO de la découverte d'oiseaux bagués. Le baguage en France c'est 600 bagueurs qui marquent chaque année 350 000 oiseaux. L'ensemble des informations collectées est archivé dans une base de données nationale hébergée par le CRBPO. Le présent site vous permet d'explorer cette base de données, à la recherche de connaissances sur les migrations, et le fonctionnement des populations d'oiseaux.

Notez que la base de données que vous allez consulter ne contient que les données numérisées. Une part importante des archives historiques de baguage n'a pas encore été informatisée. Toutefois, depuis l'an 2000, l'intégralité des données sont transmises par voie informatique, et la base est donc exhaustive pour les années récentes.

Si vous avez des difficultés de compréhension ou des questions sur l'information présentée, n'hésitez pas à visiter la section Foire Aux Questions sur notre site web.